Skip to main content
Skip header

Recognition of foreign education

Have you studied abroad? Your academic education earned abroad may be recognized by us.

Forms of verification

All documents that the applicant submits to the faculty must be duly verified, in accordance with the relevant international agreements:

  1. Countries that have concluded an agreement on legal aid with the Czech Republic – the original documents shall be valid in the territory of the contracting countries without further verification. In the event that the applicant submits copies of such documents, they must be officially certified copies made by a Czech or foreign notary, at a Czech embassy abroad or issued through the Czech Point service.

    List of countries that have concluded a legal aid agreement with the Czech Republic: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Belgium, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Montenegro, France, Georgia, Croatia, Korea (North Korea), Cuba, Cyprus, Kyrgyzstan, Hungary, Macedonia/FYROM, Moldova, Mongolia, Poland, Austria, Romania, Russian Federation, Greece, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Syria, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam.
  2. Countries which are signatories to the Multilateral Convention on the Facilitation of the Verification of Foreign Authentic Instruments – Convention on the Abolition of the Requirement of Verification of Foreign Authentic Instruments (The Hague, 5 October 1961, published under No. 45/1999 Coll.), hereinafter referred to as the “Hague Convention“.

    For these countries, a uniform form of verification of the authenticity of documents, the so-called Apostille, is established, which is issued by the authorized body of the country in which the diploma was issued (the so-called apostille authority). A list of apostille authorities is available on the Hague Conference website:  

    Documents from the following countries must be certified in the form of the Apostille: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burundi, Cook Islands, China - only Hong Kong and Macao (from other territories in China, legalization is required), Denmark, Democratic Republic of St. Tome and Principe (since 15 July 2008), Dominica, Dominican Republic (verification by apostille clause since 30 August 2009), Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, territories belonging to France (i.e. French Polynesia, French territory, Affars and Issas, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Comoros, Martinique, New Caledonia, Réunion, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna), Grenada (since 7 April 2002 - still under Great Britain), Guatemala, Honduras, India, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Israel, Japan, South Africa, Kazakhstan, Colombia, Republic of Korea (South Korea), Kosovo, Costa Rica, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta, Morocco, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Namibia, Germany, Niue, the Netherlands and its territories (i.e. the Netherlands Antilles, Aruba), Norway, New Zealand, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Portugal, El Salvador, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Suriname, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Sweden, Tajikistan, Tonga, Trininad and Tobago, Turkey, Uruguay, USA and their territories (i.e. American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands) , Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands of the United States, United Kingdom and its territories (i.e. Jersey, the Bailiwick of Guernsey, Isle of Man, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Virgins Islands, British Solomon Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Saint Helena, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands , Turks and Caicos Islands), Vanuatu and Venezuela.

    For documents from the countries of the European Union, Norway, the United States of America, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, it is possible to substitute Apostille (in the case of Canada superlegalization) with an officially certified copy of the documents (similar to variant a.) if any of the following conditions are met at the same time:
    • the foreign secondary school or university, upon request sent to it by the applicant, confirms by e-mail to the faculty that the applicant has completed his/her studies at this foreign secondary school or university,
    • the foreign university sends to the faculty a transcript or the supplement to the applicant’s diploma, in a sealed envelope, or if the applicant submits the transcript in a sealed envelope as part of the documents, or
    • the official website of the foreign secondary school or university allows to verify that the applicant has competed his/her studies at this institution (e.g. the possibility to download the transcript of the applicant from the official website of the foreign university after entering the password).
  3. Other countries – evidence of graduation must be superlegalized. As part of superlegalization, the authenticity of signatures and stamp impressions on original documents is verified:
    • by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the country in which the secondary or higher education institution that issued the document is located, or by the competent foreign authority,
    • and also by the relevant embassy of the Czech Republic.

    Requirements for the submission of duly certified documents will be met even if the candidate submits officially certified copies of documents that are certified in the above-mentioned ways that apply to the documents submitted by him/her (e.g. in the case of a Kenyan diploma, he/she submits an officially certified copy of superlegalized documents).

This might also interest you